Blog Tour : Song of the Abyss by Makiia Lucier.

Thank you to Makiia Lucier and HMH! I am so happy to have been a part of the readers and reviewers for this book

#partner @makiialucier @hmhteen . #SongoftheAbysstour #SongoftheAbyss #TowerofWinds #IsleofBloodandStone #MakiiaLucier #HMHTeen

Song of the Abyss (Tower of Winds #2)

by Makiia Lucier

Publisher: HMH Books for Young Readers
Release Date: August 27th 2019
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy
Synopsis:
Ancient grievances, long-held grudges, and dangerous magic combine in this sweeping standalone fantasy perfect for fans of Tamora Pierce and Rachel Hartman.
They came in the night as she dreamt, in her berth, on a ship sailing home to del Mar. After, they would be all Reyna thought about: two carracks painted scorpion black. No emblem on either forecastle, no pennants flying above the mainmasts to hint at a kingdom of origin.
Never a good sign.
As the granddaughter of a famed navigator, seventeen-year-old Reyna has always lived life on her own terms, despite those who say a girl could never be an explorer for the royal house of St. John del Mar. She is determined to prove them wrong, and as she returns home after a year-long expedition, she knows her dream is within reach. No longer an apprentice, instead: Reyna, Master Explorer.
But when menacing raiders attack her ship, those dreams are pushed aside. Reyna’s escape is both desperate and dangerous, and when next she sees her ship, a mystery rises from the deep. The sailors–her captain, her countrymen–have vanished. To find them, Reyna must use every resource at her disposal . . . including placing her trust in a handsome prince from a rival kingdom.
Together they uncover a disturbing truth. The attack was no isolated incident. Troubling signs point to a shadowy kingdom in the north, and for once, the rulers of the Sea of Magdalen agree: something must be done. But can Reyna be brave enough to find a way?

𝗧𝗵𝗲𝘆 𝗰𝗮𝗺𝗲 𝗶𝗻 𝘁𝗵𝗲 𝗻𝗶𝗴𝗵𝘁 𝗮𝘀 𝘀𝗵𝗲 𝗱𝗿𝗲𝗮𝗺𝘁, 𝗶𝗻 𝗵𝗲𝗿 𝗯𝗲𝗿𝘁𝗵, 𝗼𝗻 𝗮 𝘀𝗵𝗶𝗽 𝘀𝗮𝗶𝗹𝗶𝗻𝗴 𝗵𝗼𝗺𝗲 𝘁𝗼 𝗱𝗲𝗹 𝗠𝗮𝗿. 𝗔𝗳𝘁𝗲𝗿, 𝘁𝗵𝗲𝘆 𝘄𝗼𝘂𝗹𝗱 𝗯𝗲 𝗮𝗹𝗹 𝗥𝗲𝘆𝗻𝗮 𝘁𝗵𝗼𝘂𝗴𝗵𝘁 𝗮𝗯𝗼𝘂𝘁: 𝘁𝘄𝗼 𝗰𝗮𝗿𝗿𝗮𝗰𝗸𝘀 𝗽𝗮𝗶𝗻𝘁𝗲𝗱 𝘀𝗰𝗼𝗿𝗽𝗶𝗼𝗻 𝗯𝗹𝗮𝗰𝗸. 𝗡𝗼 𝗲𝗺𝗯𝗹𝗲𝗺 𝗼𝗻 𝗲𝗶𝘁𝗵𝗲𝗿 𝗳𝗼𝗿𝗲𝗰𝗮𝘀𝘁𝗹𝗲, 𝗻𝗼 𝗽𝗲𝗻𝗻𝗮𝗻𝘁𝘀 𝗳𝗹𝘆𝗶𝗻𝗴 𝗮𝗯𝗼𝘃𝗲 𝘁𝗵𝗲 𝗺𝗮𝗶𝗻𝗺𝗮𝘀𝘁𝘀 𝘁𝗼 𝗵𝗶𝗻𝘁 𝗮𝘁 𝗮 𝗸𝗶𝗻𝗴𝗱𝗼𝗺 𝗼𝗳 𝗼𝗿𝗶𝗴𝗶𝗻. —Maliia Lucier .

SONG OF THE ABYSS may be the second book in the series, but it’s a stand-alone story most readers can enjoy without having read book one, ISLE OF BLOOD AND STONE (though there are maybe a few details only returning readers will be able to appreciate). Readers who enjoyed book one will find the same lively cast of characters plus a few new faces, though Reyna’s narrative definitely takes the spotlight–her desire to become a master of the Tower of Winds, her journey to save her friends, as well as her romance with Prince Levi of Lunes take center stage. It features the same accessible prose and the same deft descriptions of lovely landscapes that made IOBAS so enjoyable. In my humble opinion, Reyna’s story was even *more* engaging than Lord Elias and Mercedes’s (which I liked) . . . though I have hopes (and SUSPICIONS!) about book three.

Fantasy Cultures + Swashbuckling Adventure + Mystery + Dash of Romance = A Winning Combination on which Lucier now has a signature stamp, in good company with Susan Dennard (Witchlands) and V.E. Schwab (Shades of Magic).

If you loved IOBAS, chances are good that you’ll love this one, too. And if you *haven’t* read IOBAS, don’t let that stop you from picking this one up (unless you plan to read book one and want to avoid the spoilers . . . there are one or two big ones). Any reader should be able to jump right in without confusion–for the most part, this book based on an entirely new adventure and events or existing relationships that require explanation are given it. Anyone who loves seafaring adventure tales of exploration, and discovery should definitely give it a try.

Incredible world building , adventure , romance , Great lyrical writing. Strong main female character . Excellent execution of plot. I really loved the pace of this book., its not rushed. Makiia Lucier , Song of the Abyss is the second book in her Tower Of Winds duolgy . It’s written as a YA book. But you would never know. It’s a great fantastic Fantasy. It can be read as a stand alone or along with,” Isle of Blood and Stone .“ Anyone who loves fantasy is really going to enjoy this series.

I think Makiia Lucier is now one of my favorite authors.

replica of the Santa Maria!

If you loved IOBAS, chances are good that you’ll love this one, too. And if you *haven’t* read IOBAS, don’t let that stop you from picking this one up (unless you plan to read book one and want to avoid the spoilers . . . there are one or two big ones). Any reader should be able to jump right in without confusion–for the most part, this book based on an entirely new adventure and events or existing relationships that require explanation are given it. Anyone who loves seafaring adventure tales of exploration, and discovery should definitely give it a try.

Available August 27th 2019 from HMH Books for Young Readers

About the Author

Makiia is the author of historical fiction and historical fantasy for young adults. She grew up on the Pacific Island of Guam (not too far from the equator), and has degrees in journalism and library science from the University of Oregon and the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee.
Her debut novel, A Death-Struck Year, was called a “powerful and disturbing reading experience” by Publishers Weekly, and was a finalist for Germany’s top book prize for children, the Deutscher Jugendliteraturpreis. Her second novel, Isle of Blood and Stone, was inspired by her love of Indiana Jones movies and old, old maps.
She lives with her family in North Carolina.