A Convenient Fiction

Hello Bookish Friends

Today I’m really excited to be taking part in the Book Tour of, A Convenient Fiction
by Mimi Matthews, which is being hosted by HFBT

A Convenient Fiction
by Mimi Matthews

Publication Date: October 22, 2019
Perfectly Proper Press

Series: Parish Orphans of Devon, Book 3
Genre: Historical Romance

 

 

The mysterious Alex Archer returns to England in Book 3 of Mimi Matthews’ USA Today bestselling Parish Orphans of Devon series.

She Needed A Husband…

It’s been three years since Laura Hayes’s father died, leaving her and her invalid brother to subsist on the income from the family’s failing perfume business. But time is swiftly running out. What she needs is a husband, and fast. A noble gentleman who can rescue them all from penury. When a mysterious stranger arrives in the village, he seems a perfect candidate. But Alex Archer is no hero. In fact, he just might be the opposite.

He Wanted a Fortune…

Alex has no tolerance for sentiment. He’s returned to England for one reason only: to find a wealthy wife. A country-bred heiress in Surrey seems the perfect target. But somewhere between the village railway station and the manor house his mercenary plan begins to unravel. And it’s all the fault of Laura Hayes–a lady as unsuitable as she is enchanting.

From the beaches of Margate to the lavender fields of Provence, a grudging friendship slowly blossoms into something more. But when scandal threatens, can a man who has spent his entire life playing the villain, finally become a hero? Or will the lure of easy riches once again outweigh the demands of his heart?

Amazon | Barnes and Noble | IndieBound

Praise for the Parish Orphans of Devon series

“For this impressive Victorian romance, Matthews crafts a tale that sparkles with chemistry and impresses with strong character development… an excellent series launch that will appeal to fans of Loretta Chase and Stephanie Laurens.” -Publishers Weekly (The Matrimonial Advertisement)

“Matthews has a knack for creating slow-building chemistry and an intriguing plot with a social history twist.” -Library Journal (The Matrimonial Advertisement)

“As always, Matthews’ attention to historical accuracy is impeccable.” -Kirkus Reviews (A Modest Independence)

“Mimi Matthews is an exceptional story-teller.” -Passages to the Past (The Matrimonial Advertisement)

“Matthews is a bright, shining star in historical romance…” -Austenprose (A Modest Independence)

Gwendalyn’s Books

This book was received from the Author, in exchange for an honest review. Opinions and thoughts expressed in this review are completely my own

She hadn’t the luxury of a champion. In the absence of one, she’d learned to champion herself.

This is the third book in Mimi Matthews’ Parish Orphans of Devon series.

A compelling historically accurate, novel that is quick paced and a joy to read. Mimi Matthews is my auto buy author for historical romance.

Exquisitely written, rich in historical detail, endearing and fleshed out character. Immersive storyline that is engaging. There is something about Mimi Matthews, graceful writing that enchants you. Swoon worthy romance that transports you to the Victorian times.

A Convenient Fiction was such a wonderful captivating read for me.

Matthews knows how an engage the reader, and keeps you completely vested in this perfect romance.

Ever since her father’s death, Laura Hayes has been forced to shoulder the burden of her aging aunt Charlotte, and her invalid brother, Teddy.

A shady solicitor is the executioner of Laura’s fathers will. He holds the purse strings until her brother Teddy’s, 21st birthday or if Laura marries before her 25th birthday. Laura is shouldering the management of a the households income on a monthly stifling from what is left of family’s failing perfume business.

Alex Archer has arrived in countryside of Surrey England, for the sole reason to collect a debt by snaring an heiress with a considerable estate. Alex is a tortured soul, running from the demons of his childhood.

He is looking for a sense of connection and property is way of putting down roots without emotional ties. A cad of unscrupulous morals and relying on his ability to lure unsuspecting nobility into the game of cards as an income. Running from scars of orphanage, surviving the horrors of young adult life. Haunted by his past betrayal to boyhood friends. He believes the very worst of himself.

“I have a family,” she said. “You should marry me.”

Will Alex be able to secure an Heiress or will he fall victim to his heart ?

Creative dialogue and characters that I absolutely adored. The romance captivated my heart. By the end, the characters felt like they were a part of me, and I was so disappointed when the story had to end. I can’t recommend this book enough.

A Convenient Fiction by Mimi Matthews is a brilliant example of the perfect Historical Romance. Intriguing characters that leap off the pages, along with vibrant historical details makes this a perfect addition to your bookshelf.

About the Author

USA Today bestselling author Mimi Matthews (A Victorian Lady’s Guide to Fashion and Beauty, The Matrimonial Advertisement) writes both historical non-fiction and traditional historical romances set in Victorian England. Her articles on nineteenth century history have been published on various academic and history sites, including the Victorian Web and the Journal of Victorian Culture, and are also syndicated weekly at BUST Magazine. In her other life, Mimi is an attorney. She resides in California with her family, which includes an Andalusian dressage horse, two Shelties, and two Siamese cats.

For more information, please visit Mimi Matthews’ website and blog. You can also connect with her on FacebookTwitterBookBubPinterestGoogle+, and Goodreads.

Blog Tour Schedule

Tuesday, October 22
Review at Courtney Clark

Wednesday, October 23
Review at The Lit Bitch

Thursday, October 24
Review at Gwendalyn’s Books

Friday, October 25
Review at Bookish Rantings

Monday, October 28
Review at Amy’s Booket List

Friday, November 1
Feature at View from the Birdhouse

Monday, November 4
Review at Austenprose

Wednesday, November 6
Review at Passages to the Past

Saturday, November 9
Review at Robin Loves Reading

Monday, November 11
Review at Lost_in_a_book_reviewer

Wednesday, November 13
Review at For the Sake of Good Taste

Friday, November 15
Review at Coffee and Ink

Giveaway

During the Blog Tour, we are giving away a signed paperback copy of A Convenient Fiction by Mimi Matthews! To enter, please use the Gleam form below.

Giveaway Rules

– Giveaway ends at 11:59 pm EST on November 15th. You must be 18 or older to enter.
– Paperback giveaway is open to the US only.
– Only one entry per household.
– All giveaway entrants agree to be honest and not cheat the systems; any suspicion of fraud will be decided upon by blog/site owner and the sponsor, and entrants may be disqualified at our discretion.
– The winner has 48 hours to claim prize or a new winner is chosen.

A Convenient Fiction

Please follow and like us:

One thought on “A Convenient Fiction

Leave a Reply