Book Tour Beyond The Moon

Review & Giveaway: Beyond the Moon by Catherine Taylor

Hello Bookish Friends,Today I’m really excited to be taking part in the Book Tour of, Beyond The Moon
by Catherine Taylor, which is being hosted by HFBT

Beyond the Moon by Catherine Taylor

Publication Date: June 25, 2019
The Cameo Press Ltd
eBook & Paperback; 496 Pages
Genre: Historical Fiction/Time Travel

Outlander meets Birdsong is this haunting debut timeslip novel, where a strange twist of fate connects a British soldier fighting in the First World War and a young woman living in modern-day England a century later.

*Shortlisted for the Eharmony/Orion Write Your Own Love Story Prize 2018/19

In 1916 1st Lieutenant Robert Lovett is a patient at Coldbrook Hall military hospital in Sussex, England. A gifted artist, he been wounded fighting in the Great War. Shell shocked and suffering from hysterical blindness he can no longer see his own face, let alone paint, and life seems increasingly hopeless.

A century later in 2017, medical student Louisa Casson has just lost her beloved grandmother her only family. Heartbroken, she drowns her sorrows in alcohol on the South Downs cliffsonly to fall accidentally part-way down. Doctors fear she may have attempted suicide, and Louisa finds herself involuntarily admitted to Coldbrook Hall now a psychiatric hospital, an unfriendly and chaotic place.

Then one day, while secretly exploring the old Victorian hospital ruined, abandoned wing, Louisa hears a voice calling for help, and stumbles across a dark, old-fashioned hospital room. Inside, lying on the floor, is a mysterious, sightless young man, who tells her he was hurt at the Battle of the Somme, a WW1 battle a century ago. And that his name is Lieutenant Robert Lovett.

Two people, two battles: one against the invading Germans on the battlefields of 1916 France, the other against a substandard, uncaring mental health facility in modern-day England. Two journeys begun a century apart, but somehow destined to coincide – and become one desperate struggle to be together.

Part WW1 historical fiction, part timeslip love story – and at the same time a meditation on the themes of war, mental illness, identity and art – Beyond The Moon sweeps the reader on an unforgettable journey through time. An intelligent read, perfect for book clubs.

For fans of Diana Gabaldon, Amy Harmon, Beatriz Williams, Kate Quinn, Kristin Hannah, Kate Morton, Susanna Kearsley and Paullina Simons.

“A poignant and stirring love story… Taylors accomplished, genre-bending book succeeds as a WW1 historical novel and a beguiling, time travel romance… The sharply written narrative deftly moves back and forth between the past and present.” Kirkus Reviews
“A time travel romance, yet so much more than that. It is also an unflinching portrait of the horrors of war, and a look at the torturous extremes a human soul can endure. It is a sonnet to the transformative power of love, even as it is also a criticism of the futility and pointless destructiveness of war.” Shaylin Gandhi, author of By The Light of Embers

Amazon | IndieBound

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

This book was received from the Author, and Publisher, in exchange for an honest review. Opinions and thoughts expressed in this review are completely my own.

An impressive stunning historical fiction blended with vibrant atmospheric time traveling. Wonderfully depicted complex relationships, along with atmospheric duel settings. The story is brought to life within rich details of the pages of, Catherine Taylor’s, Beyond The Moon.

Lt. Robert Lovett is an honorable officer serving in his majesty’s military during the First World War in the trenches of France and Belgium. Lt. Robert Lovett talent as artist is depicting in his paintings of the harsh realities of war. He is selected for a major exhibition. Everything comes to a stand still when he is wounded in 1916, from injuries sustained during the Somme campaign. Sent to Coldbrook Hall military convalescent hospital in Sussex, England to recuperate from his wounds and a form of hysterical blindness

A century after Lovett is hospitalized, Louisa Casson, experiences the death of her much loved grandmother, abandoned early in life by her father. Her grandmother is the only person to take her in and care for her. Feeling lost and depressed she walks along the cliffs near her grandmother’s home. Partaking in a cherished bottle of brandy she suffers a disastrous untimely fall.Louisa is rescued, but it is believed to be a suicide attempt. Although Louisa was not suicidal, no amount of reasoning will convince anyone otherwise. Louisa is then held captive with no family to vouch for her sanity, she is sent to Coldbrook Hall.

Coldbrook Hall, is nothing of it once was, in the modern day 2017, is currently a non profit institution that offers only the minimum of psychiatric care to its patients. As an ideal patient at Coldbrook Hall, she is allowed to roam the hospitals premises. Louisa befriends another patient at Coldbrook, Kerry, who takes her to an abandoned wing of the hospital. While Louisa is exploring some of the dilapidated ruins of hospital, she opens a door and steps through to the war torn times of the 1900’s.

Casson and Lovett heartache and romance spans the ages and is the story’s centerpiece of this stunning historical fiction. They are surrounded by notable well developed sub characters, Louisa friend and confidant, Kerry, and Gallery owner, Edgar Brocklebank, who is Lovett’s mentor and friend.

Taylor gives her readers a realistic, unflinching details of the horrors seen through the eyes of Lt Robert Lovette, wartime experience. From the gut wrenching horrific trench warfare, to his experience as a WWl POWL Although, the story is mostly set during the horrific reality of World War l, it also touches on the neglected treatment of mental illness issues of the present day.

What really stood out for me was the authors ability to seamlessly move the reader through and what I really loved about this story was the compelling and emotional layered duel timelines and how they connected the plot line.We see the historical side to the story and then a modern side to it. Each are strong, interesting stories with their conflicts and heartache that shape the people they are.

A stunning book, that I absolutely loved the storyline, along with authors seamless writing, and her creative ability to keep me vested all the way through.

This is an incredible historical fiction romance, with some of the best time travel elements that have had the chance to read.

One of my all time definite favorite book for 2019.

About the Author


Catherine Taylor was born and grew up on the island of Guernsey in the British Channel Islands. She is a former journalist, most recently for Dow Jones News and The Wall Street Journal in London. Beyond The Moon is her first novel. She lives in Ealing, London with her husband and two children.

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

Blog Tour Schedule

Monday, December 9
Review at Passages to the Past

Tuesday, December 10
Review at @bookishbellee
Review at Gwendalyn’s Books
Feature at I’m All About Books
Feature at Books In Their Natural Habitat
Review & Guest Post at Jackie & Angela’s Book Reviews

Wednesday, December 11
Review at 100 Pages a Day
Instagram Feature at Just a Girl and Her Books

Thursday, December 12
Review at @thisbibliolife
Interview at Jathan & Heather

Friday, December 13
Review at Reading is My Remedy

Saturday, December 14
Review at Books and Zebras
Feature at What Is That Book About

Sunday, December 15
Review at Rose is Reading
Review at Carole Rae’s Random Ramblings

Monday, December 16
Review at @ya.its.lit
Interview at Liberty’s Literary Loves

Tuesday, December 17
Excerpt at Let Them Read Books
Review & Guest Post at Tales from the Book Dragon

Wednesday, December 18
Review at A Chick Who Reads
Review & Excerpt at The Book Junkie Reads

Thursday, December 19
Review at Pencils & Pages
Review at Impressions In Ink

Friday, December 20
Review at A Darn Good Read
Review at Red Headed Book Lady
Excerpt at Historical Fiction with Spirit

Giveaway

During the Blog Tour, we are giving away two paperback copies of Beyond the Moon by Catherine Taylor! To enter, please use the Gleam form below.

Giveaway Rules

Giveaway ends at 11:59 pm EST on December 20th. You must be 18 or older to enter.
Paperback giveaway is open to the US only.
Only one entry per household.
All giveaway entrants agree to be honest and not cheat the systems; any suspicion of fraud will be decided upon by blog/site owner and the sponsor, and entrants may be disqualified at our discretion.
The winner has 48 hours to claim prize or a new winner is chosen.

Beyond the Moon

Please follow and like us:

One thought on “Book Tour Beyond The Moon

Leave a Reply