The Saxon Spears Book Tour

Today I’m really excited to be taking part in the Book Tour of, The Saxon Spears
by, James Calbraith, which is being hosted by HFBT!

#TheSaxonSpears #JamesCalbraith #HFVBTBlogTours

œS Saxon Spears
by James Calbraith

Publication Date: December 11, 2019
Flying Squid
Paperback & eBook; 481 Pages

Series: The Song of Ash, Book 1
Genre: Historical Fiction

 

 

The old world is burning down
A hero will rise from its ASH.

Thirty years have passed since Britannia voted to throw off the Roman yoke. Now, the old world crumbles.

Pirates roam the seas, bandits threaten the highways, and barbarian refugees land at Britannia’s shores, uninvited. The rich profit from the chaos, while the poor suffer. A new Dark Age is approaching – but all is not lost.

Ash is a Seaborn, a Saxon child found on the beach with nothing but a precious stone at his neck and a memory of a distant war from which his people have fled. Raised on the estate of a Briton nobleman, trained in warfare and ancient knowledge, he soon becomes embroiled in the machinations and intrigues at the court of Wortigern, the Dux of Londinium, a struggle that is about to determine the future of all Britannia.

A child of Saxon blood, an heir to Roman family, his is a destiny like no other: to join the two races and forge a new world from the ruins of the old.

The Saxon Spears is the first volume of the Song of Ash saga, perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell’s “The Last Kingdom” series, Simon Scarrow and Conn Iggulden.

AMAZON.COM | AMAZON.UK

Praise

“Fast paced and full of energy.” –Adrian Tchaikovsky, author of the Shadows of the Apt

“James Calbraith’s writing is reminiscent of a classic, epic fantasy -immersive, and detailed to the letter. The real-world cultures he draws from are incredibly well-researched and truthful, and yet well-balanced with the fantasy elements he sprinkles in between. An intriguing and impressive series.” –Ben Galley, author of the Emaneska Series

“This manuscript is full of highly crafted detail that will make readers shiver at times with fear and delight. (…) a familiar yet highly original fantasy that is a worthwhile read.”–Publisher’s Weekly

“Calbraith weaves a story that is wholly original while following the traditional fantasy tropes.” – eFiction Steampunk

“The detail and intricacy of the writing is impressive. With inclusion of races and histories, it almost reminds me of Tolkien – in Asia.” – YA Book Bridges review

A Saxon born, raised in a Roman house….Learned in classics, trained in both barbarian and civilized warfare.

This book was received from the Author, and Publisher, in exchange for an honest review. Opinions and thoughts expressed in this review are completely my own

The old world is burning down
A hero will rise from its ASH.

James Calbraith, delivers a riveting tale of a Saxon boy, Ash Seaborn

This intense character driven adventure, with in-depth battle scenes, is incredible intricately plotted. A founding saved from the seas, with only fleeting moments of memory of a battle from which his people fled from. When a unmerciful, disorienting storm separates him from his people, he is found washed up on a beach shore with only a rune stone tied around his neck to connect him with his past.

Taken in as a son and raised at a villa by Pascent, a Roman master of a Villa, he is brought up along side their natural son, Fastidiu . The young Saxon Ash, is given an amazing opportunity tutored in the classics, by the Priest Paulinus.

He is trained in both barbarian and civilized warfare techniques, by Falco, a Frankish bodyguard of Master Pascent. Ash is brought up in the Christian faith, in the Roman household, until the Frank, Falco introducing him to the old gods of Saxons and ancients of his people. With an ancient right of passage, Ash is given a glimpse of fate or destiny and later on presented with a spear fashioned like that of his people, by a master blacksmith.

Young Ash sees the political turmoil in and around the Dux of Londinium, in Wortigern’s Court, a struggle that is about to determine the future of all Britannia.

When a series of events and developments, The Saxon born Ash, will go through trials and he will to make a a decision that will ultimately put his life on a clear path.

James Calbraith, delivers a compelling gripping tale, with intense characters. I thoroughly enjoyed the structure of this story and it had me hooked right from the very first chapter. The author gives superb battle and fighting sequences, with rich atmospheric details, that puts the reader front and center in the action packed adventure.

Calbraith, elaborate blend mythology and historical fiction is both captivating and entertaining. An inspiring tale that catapults in to early Britannia, with authors strong narration this book is one you want to pass up.

An intriguing and impressive start to a new series, a captivating coming of age tale of a young warrior destined for greatness.

A child of Saxon blood, an heir to Roman family, who’s destiny is like no other, to join the two races and forge a new world from the ruins of the old.

The Saxon Spear by James Calbraith, is the first volume of the Song of Ash Saga.

About the Author

James Calbraith is a Poland-born British writer, foodie and traveller.

Growing up in communist Poland on a diet of powdered milk, Lord of the Rings and soviet science-fiction, he had his first story published at the ripe age of eight. After years of bouncing around Polish universities, he moved to London in 2007 and started writing in English. His debut historical fantasy novel, “The Shadow of Black Wings”, has reached ABNA semi-finals. It was published in July 2012 and hit the Historical Fantasy and Alternate History bestseller lists on Amazon US & UK.

Twitter | Goodreads

Blog Tour Schedule

Monday, February 24
Review at Donna’s Book Blog

Tuesday, February 25
Excerpt at Passages to the Past

Wednesday, February 26
Review at Gwendalyn’s Books

Thursday, February 27
Review at Broken Teepee

Friday, February 28
Review at Books and Zebras

Saturday, February 29
Excerpt at Historical Fiction with Spirit

Monday, March 2
Review at Hoover Book Reviews

Tuesday, March 3
Review at Jessica Belmont

Wednesday, March 4
Review at Historical Graffiti

Thursday, March 5
Excerpt at Carole Rae’s Random Ramblings

Friday, March 6
Review at YA, It’s Lit

Giveaway

During the Blog Tour, we are giving away a paperback copy of The Saxon Spears! To enter, please use the Gleam form below.

Giveaway Rules

Giveaway ends at 11:59 pm EST on March 6th. You must be 18 or older to enter.
Paperback giveaway is open internationally.
Only one entry per household.
All giveaway entrants agree to be honest and not cheat the systems; any suspicion of fraud will be decided upon by blog/site owner and the sponsor, and entrants may be disqualified at our discretion.
The winner has 48 hours to claim prize or a new winner is chosen.

The Saxon Spears

Please follow and like us:

One thought on “The Saxon Spears Book Tour

Leave a Reply