Promised: A Proper Romance

Hello lovelies,
Today I have a wonderful book review by a debut novelist, Leah Garriott

 Austenprose

I have partnered with Forty popular book bloggers specializing in historical romance, inspirational fiction, and Austenesque fiction will feature guest blogs, interviews, exclusive excerpts, and book reviews of this acclaimed Regency romance novel
From February 17 through March 15, 2020 to share her new historical romance, Promised: A Proper Romance

@LeahGarriott, @ShadowMountn

#PromisedBlogTour #HistoricalRomance, #RegencyRomance, #ChristianFiction, #InspirationalFiction, #Reading, #LeahGarriott, #ShadowMountain

 

 Title: Promised: A Proper Romance
 Author: Leah Garriott
 Tour Dates: February 17  March 15, 2020
 Genre: Historical Romance, Regency Romance, Inspirational Fiction
 Publisher: Shadow Mountain Publishing (February 18, 2020)
 Length (368) pages
 Trade paperback ISBN: 978-1629726144
 eBook ASIN: B082VK732L
 Audiobook ASIN: B081VS45P4

 

 

PURCHASE LINKS:

 

AMAZON | BARNES & NOBLE | BOOK DEPOSITORY | INDIEBOUND

AUDIBLE | GOODREADS | BOOKBUB

 

 

BOOK DESCRIPTION:

 

Margaret Brinton keeps her promises, and the one she is most determined to keep is the promise to protect her heart.

Warwickshire, England, 1812

Fooled by love once before, Margaret vows never to be played the fool again. To keep her vow, she attends a notorious matchmaking party intent on securing the perfect marital match: a union of convenience to someone who could never affect her heart. She discovers a man who exceeds all her hopes in the handsome and obliging rake Mr. Northam.

There’s only one problem. His meddling cousin, Lord Williams, won’t leave Margaret alone. Condescending and high-handed, Lord Williams lectures and insults her. When she refuses to give heed to his counsel, he single-handedly ruins Margaret’s chances for making a good match—to his cousin or anyone else. With no reason to remain at the party, Margaret returns home to discover her father has promised her hand in marriage—to Lord Williams

Under no condition will Margaret consent to marrying such an odious man. Yet as Lord Williams inserts himself into her everyday life, interrupting her family games and following her on morning walks, winning the good opinion of her siblings and proving himself intelligent and even kind, Margaret is forced to realize that Lord Williams is exactly the type of man she’d hoped to marry before she’d learned how much love hurt. When paths diverge and her time with Lord Williams ends, Margaret is faced with her ultimate choice: keep the promises that protect her or break free of them for one more chance at love. Either way, she fears her heart will lose.

 

EARLY PRAISE:

 

“Promising Regency-set debut. Vivid period details and the hero’s grand romantic efforts will please fans of historical romance.”—Publishers Weekly

“Debut -author Garriott’s smooth prose and character-driven story will enthrall readers looking for sweet historicals with Austenesque plots.”—Library Journal

“Garriott’s impressive debut distinguishes itself with its expertly evoked Regency setting, a cast of realistically flawed yet eminently relatable characters, and a sweetly satisfying love story. Teen fans of Austen-era love stories will fall hard for this impeccably crafted romance.”Booklist

 

“Promised is a sweet regency romance and one that I recommend to all of you romance fans, especially those of you that enjoy stories inspired by Jane Austen.”—The Book Diva’s Reads

 

“…a fun, entertaining, and perfect addition to the Proper Romance collection.”—The Readathon

 

“With an Austen-like focus on minute emotional detail and some amusing secondary characters, Garriott’s gentle novel promises a treat for Regency fans who like their characters well-bred, their interiors comfortable, and the romance no racier than the hero turning up in a wet shirt.”Historical Novel Society

 

 

This book was received from the Author, and Publisher, in exchange for an honest review. Opinions and thoughts expressed in this review are completely my own.

Quotes:

Lady Margaret: “The creamy broth and crushed almonds tasted like resolve and opportunity swirled together in a perfect blend of promise”

Lord Williams: “We have always spoken rather boldly to each other, have we not? It suits both our temperaments and has from the very first.”

This delightful book is perfect for fans of Jane Austen and who enjoy wonderful Regency era romances.

Margaret Brinton keeps her promises, and the one she is most determined to keep is the promise to protect her heart…

Warwickshire, England, 1812, Margaret Brinton is seeking an eligible bachelor, for a marriage of convenience only. Having already learned a valuable past lesson…that falling in love can be disastrous to one’s heart. She has suffered a broken heart along with a broken engagement.

So taking things into her own hands, she convinces her brother to escort her to to a matchmaking house party. Margaret is witty with a enticing and flirtatious personality,

and attracts the the attention of two attractive bachelors, the notorious known rake, Fredrick Northam Mr. Northam and his reserved cousin Lord Gregory William.

When Lord Williams, does the unthinkable and snubs Margaret in public. This in turn causes Margret to have a preconceived view of Lord Williams character, and in her mind there will definitely not be any future pleasantries between them two.

In a twist of fate that will challenge Margaret to reign in her fiery and vibrant personality, and except the the well laid plans for her future.

Hopefully without losing her heart once more.

The authors development of the romantic relationship between the hero and heroine was believable and the chemistry was incredible. The writing is strong and flows perfectly, and I really enjoyed the first person narration. I was emotionally connected with the well fleshed out characters. The plot line is superb and the twists, add incredible depth and drama, to this lovely book

A lovely enchanting, believable ennemis to lovers Regency period, that is compelling as it is faced paced. The storyline is engaging along with incredible dialogue, that keeps you immersed from start to finish. The prose and the storyline unfolds perfectly allowing the reader to feel completely in this atmospheric historical regency novel.

I loved this heartfelt book and I am impatiently waiting to read anything in future from this captivating author.

AUTHOR BIO:

 

Though she earned degrees in math and statistics, Leah Garriott lives for a good love story. She’s resided in Hawaii and Italy, walked the countryside of England, and owns every mainstream movie version of Pride and Prejudice. She’s currently living her own happily ever after in Utah with her husband and three kids. Leah is represented by Sharon Pelletier at Dystel, Goderich, and Bourret.

 

WEBSITE | FACEBOOK | TWITTER | INSTAGRAM | GOODREADS

 

 

BLOG TOUR BLURB:

 

Debut novelist Leah Garriott tours the blogosphere February 17 through March 15, 2020to share her new historical romance, Promised. Forty popular book bloggers specializing in historical romance, inspirational fiction, and Austenesque fiction will feature guest blogs, interviews, exclusive excerpts, and book reviews of this acclaimed Regency romance novel. 

 

 

PROMISED: A PROPER ROMANCE BLOG TOUR SCHEDULE:

 

February 17My Jane Austen Book Club (Guest Blog)

February 17Austenprose—A Jane Austen Blog (Review)

February 18Katie’s Clean Book Collection (Review)

February 18Wishful Endings (Interview)

February 19RelzReviewz (Character Spotlight)

February 20Encouraging Words from the Tea Queen (Spotlight)

February 21The Lit Bitch (Excerpt)

February 22The Debutante Ball (Interview)

February 23Adventure. Romance. Suspense (Review)

February 24A Bookish Way of Life (Review)

February 24Austenesque Reviews (Guest Blog)

February 24Half Agony, Half Hope (Review)

February 25Frolic Media (Excerpt)

February 26Heidi Reads (Guest Blog)

February 26The Caffeinated Bibliophile (Interview)

February 27Wishful Endings (Review)

February 28Lu Reviews Books (Review)

February 29KJ’s Book Nook (Review)

March 01My Vices and Weaknesses (Excerpt)

March 02Bringing Up Books (Review)

March 02Christian Chick’s Thoughts (Review)

March 02For Where Your Treasure Is (Interview)

March 03Heidi Reads (Review)

March 03So Little Time…So Much to Read (Excerpt)

March 04Romance Junkies (Guest Blog)

March 04Gwendalyn’s Books (Review)

March 05Laura’s Reviews (Review)

March 06Scuffed Slippers Wormy Books (Spotlight)

March 07Fiction Aficionado (Review)

March 08The Christian Fiction Girl (Review)

March 09Austenesque Reviews (Review)

March 10Bookfoolery (Review)

March 10From Pemberley to Milton (Review)

March 11Faithfully Bookish (Interview)

March 12Impressions in Ink (Review)

March 13Robin Loves Reading (Review)

March 13The Green Mockingbird (Review)

March 14Inkwell Inspirations (Review)

March 15The Calico Critic (Excerpt)

March 15Bookworm Nation (Guest Blog) 

 

 

Please follow and like us:

One thought on “Promised: A Proper Romance

Leave a Reply