The Lost History Of Dreams Book Tour

Today I’m really excited to be taking part in the Book Tour of, The Lost History
by Kris WaldHerr, which is being hosted by HFBT!

#TheLostHistoryofDreams #KrisWaldherr #HFVBTBlogTours

@kriswaldherr @AtriaBooks @hfvbt  

The Lost History of Dreams
by Kris Waldherr

Paperback Publication Date: February 18, 2020
Atria Books
Hardcover & eBook; 336 Pages

Genre: Historical/Gothic/Mystery

 

 A post-mortem photographer unearths dark secrets of the past that may hold the key to his future, in this captivating debut novel in the gothic tradition of Wuthering Heights and The Thirteenth Tale.

All love stories are ghost stories in disguise.

When famed Byronesque poet Hugh de Bonne is discovered dead of a heart attack in his bath one morning, his cousin Robert Highstead, a historian turned post-mortem photographer, is charged with a simple task: transport Hugh’s remains for burial in a chapel. This chapel, a stained glass folly set on the moors of Shropshire, was built by de Bonne sixteen years earlier to house the remains of his beloved wife and muse, Ada. Since then, the chapel has been locked and abandoned, a pilgrimage site for the rabid fans of de Bonne’s last book, The Lost History of Dreams.

However, Ada’s grief-stricken niece refuses to open the glass chapel for Robert unless he agrees to her bargain: before he can lay Hugh to rest, Robert must record Isabelle’s story of Ada and Hugh’s ill-fated marriage over the course of five nights.

As the mystery of Ada and Hugh’s relationship unfolds, so does the secret behind Robert’s own marriage—including that of his fragile wife, Sida, who has not been the same since the tragic accident three years ago, and the origins of his own morbid profession that has him seeing things he shouldn’t—things from beyond the grave.

Kris Waldherr effortlessly spins a sweeping and atmospheric gothic mystery about love and loss that blurs the line between the past and the present, truth and fiction, and ultimately, life and death.

Now available in paperback!

Amazon | Barnes and Noble | Books-a-Million | IndieBound

Praise for The Lost History of Dreams

Scheherazade-like haunting Waldherr writes that love stories are ghost stories in disguise. This one, happily, succeeds as both. Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

An unexpected delight that grows steadily more compelling as its pages fly by. Booklist

A sensual, twisting gothic tale that embraces Victorian superstition much in the tradition of A.S. Byatts Possession, Diane Setterfields The Thirteenth Tale and Emily Bronte Wuthering Heights. BookPage

Eerily atmospheric and gorgeously written, The Lost History of Dreams is a Gothic fairy-tale to savor. Kate Quinn, New York Times bestselling author of THE ALICE NETWORK and THE HUNTRESS

The Lost History of Dreams is a dark, shimmering gem of a novel, glittering with love lost, secrets kept, and long-buried truths revealed. Wonder, memory, death and passion haunt every page of Kris Waldherr powerhouse Gothic debut. Greer Macallister, bestselling author of THE MAGICIANS LIE and WOMAN 99

Brooding, romantic, and thoughtful, The Lost History of Dreams is a rare bird in that it shines throughout with wit. I loved every page of it. Erika Swyler, bestselling author of THE BOOK OF SPECULATION and LIGHT FROM OTHER STARS

With luminous prose, stunning poetry and a fascinating cast of characters, Waldherr weaves a wonderfully atmospheric tale. Not to be missed! Hazel Gaynor, New York Times bestselling author of THE GIRL WHO CAME HOME and THE LIGHTHOUSE KEEPERS DAUGHTER

A riveting, addictive read. Sarah Waters fans will be entranced. Mary Sharratt, author of ECSTASY and DAUGHTERS OF THE WITCHING HILL

A novel of haunting mystery and passion reminiscent of Wuthering Heights and Byatts Possession. Crystal King, author of FEAST OF SORROW and THE CHEFS SECRET

An atmospheric tale of lost love, family secrets, and an inquiry into how our own histories define us, I relished every poetic page. Heather Webb, international bestselling author of LAST CHRISTMAS IN PARIS and THE PHANTOMS APPRENTICE

“With beautiful prose and poetry, Waldherr weaves a darkly seductive Gothic tale of love, art, death, and obsession. You’ll want to keep reading this one late into the night. Alyssa Palombo, author of THE SPELLBOOK OF KATRINA VAN TASSEL

A sumptuous feast for all the senses. Clarissa Harwood, author of IMPOSSIBLE SAINTS and BEAR NO MALICE

This book was received from the Author, and Publisher, in exchange for an honest review. Opinions and thoughts expressed in this review are completely my own.

Thank you Amy of HFBT, along with Atria Books, and the author, Kris Waldherr, for giving me an opportunity to read this beautiful novel in exchange for my honest opinion.

Kris Waldherr’s latest novel, The Lost History of Dreams is a forbidding historical mystery that brings to mind some of classical gothic-romance of the past.

When famed the Byronesque poet Hugh de Bonne, whose last work was titled,

The Lost History of Dreams, is discovered dead, his cousin Robert Highstead, who is a post-death photographer, {daguerreotype}, is tasked by his estranged brother to deliver Hugh’s body to his old home in the moors of Shropshire England. Robert’s simple task is to deliver the body to a stained glass folly the author had built to hold the remains of his wife, Ada.

Ada’s niece, Isabelle, however has never gotten over the death of her aunt Ada, and she refuses to allow Robert into the folly….unless he allows her to tell Ada’s story over the course of five nights.. reminiscent of a major female character and the storyteller in the famed, One Thousand and One Nights.

There is a slow burning creepiness to story line that meticulously builds with intensity as the story goes on. Like the best classical writers of this genre, the author takes her time building up to the story itself. This allows the full effect of creating uneasiness for the reader. The book is hauntingly eerie, full of beautiful lyrical prose set in Victorian England, Kris Waldherr masterfully complex inventive storyline is full of multilayered stories within stories. The book is spine-tingling and very mysterious. The beautiful dark imagery is breathtaking, creating a dream like atmosphere.

This mesmerizing top notch, gothic historical novel, is the perfect tension filled read. An compelling well written plot line with twist that keep guessing. A captivating tale of obsessive love, grief, mystery, that unfolds ingenious. Making this a stellar book, and one of my favorites by far this year.

I am now a dedicated entranced fan of Kris Waldherr, and I am looking forward to reading anything this author writes from now on.

Book Quote:

“All houses have a story to tell, Isabelle began. Some houses are akin to fairy tales, as many claim of Ada’s Folly. Other houses are structured like poems, with rooms devoted to beauty but lacking in function. However, only a few houses offer ghost stories. They’re built to be trampled by sorrow and loss. And that’s what you’ll find deep within the very walls and doors of Weald House: a ghost story begun from love.

About the Author

Kris Waldherr books for adults and children include The Lost History of Dreams, Bad Princess, Doomed Queens, and The Book of Goddesses. The Lost History of Dreams received a Kirkus starred review and was called “an unexpected delight” by Booklist. The New Yorker praised Doomed Queens as utterly satisfying and deliciously perverse. The Book of Goddesses was a One Spirit/Book-of-the-Month Club Top Ten Most Popular Book. Her picture book Persephone and the Pomegranate was lauded by the New York Times Book Review for its quality of myth and magic. Her fiction has won fellowships from the Virginia Center of the Creative Arts, and a works-in-progress reading grant from Poets & Writers.

As a visual artist, Waldherr is the creator of the Goddess Tarot, which has a quarter of a million copies in print. She has had illustrations published as greeting cards, book covers, and in calendars and magazines. Her art has been exhibited in many galleries and museums including the Ruskin Library, the Mazza Museum of International Art from Picture Books, and the National Museum of Women in the Arts.

Kris Waldherr works and lives in Brooklyn in a Victorian-era house with her husband, their young daughter, and a very vocal Bengal cat.

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads | BookBub

Blog Tour Schedule

Friday, March 13
Review at A Bookish Affair
Review at Tales from the Book Dragon

Saturday, March 14
Review at 100 Pages a Day

Monday, March 16
Review at Gwendalyn’s Books

Tuesday, March 17
Review at Clarissa Reads it All

Thursday, March 19
Review at YA, It’s Lit
Review at Older & Smarter

Friday, March 20
Review at Donna’s Book Blog

Sunday, March 22
Review at Historical Graffiti

Tuesday, March 24
Review at Books In Their Natural Habitat

Wednesday, March 25
Interview at Jorie Loves A Story

Thursday, March 26
Review at Books and Zebras

Saturday, March 28
Review at Nurse Bookie

Monday, March 30
Review at Jorie Loves A Story

Tuesday, March 31
Review at Passages to the Past

Giveaway

To celebrate the paperback publication of The Lost History of Dreams, Kris is offering an exclusive blog tour giveaway of some of her most popular publications! The collection includes an autographed copy of The Lost History of Dreams paperback, a Goddess Tarot deck, a Sacred World Oracle deck, a hardcover of Bad Princess, and a teaser booklet of Doomed Queens. Retail value $75. Giveaway ends 3/31/2020. US only.

To enter the giveaway, click HERE.


Please follow and like us:

One thought on “The Lost History Of Dreams Book Tour

Leave a Reply